Fair Game by Monica Murphy

 

Fair Game (The Rules #1) by Monica Murphy

Published May 12th 2015

Bad enough Jade Frost’s boyfriend drags her to a boring poker game. Even worse that he actually threw her into the betting pot during an intense round…and lost. Talk about the perfect excuse for Jade to make him her ex-boyfriend.

Fair Game (The Rules, #1)
Now she supposedly belongs to the ultra rich, extremely gorgeous Shep Prescott. He could have anything he wants yet he seems to be in hot pursuit of her. No matter how rude, how snarky, how impossible she acts, it doesn’t stop him. More like her horrible behavior seems to make him want her more.

When she finds herself starting to fall for him, Jade’s confused. There’s more to Shep than the carefree rich charmer he portrays. No way could he want a serious relationship with her…or could he?

 


I have had Fair Game sitting in my book library for months (I got it since August 16th 2015) and I don’t know why, when it comes to picking a new book to read, I was always overlooking it and saying I would read it next time. I even forgot about the book, till two more books in the series got released and I knew I seriously needed to read, but till next time became a new year and I finally, said no to myself and settled into it.

 

 

I love college reads, albeit they are almost always the same thing, girl meets popular masculine player, girl doesn’t want to be another bed notch, boy chases relentless *because he likes the challenge* and they fall for each other and live happily ever after, after dodging the curve balls that are thrown their way. Shepard Prescott has such a snobby name right? There is no doubt he is one rich, spoilt and arrogant brat and he knows it. Jade Frost on the other hand projects a lot college girls and she is such a lovable character, I took to her immediately. She’s a fiery redhead, with uncountable freckles and a sassy attitude that doesn’t allow bullshit from anyone, not even the one and only Shepard Prescott.

Jade is a character that reminds me of myself. She’s outspoken, sarcastic and a hard baller. She owns herself, albeit dealing with some low-self esteem, like most of us do, which makes her all the more perfect. I love how she doesn’t take anyone’s crap, not even Shepard and how reasonable and sane headed she is. I mean Shepard could not help pursuing her, because she is more than worth it.

Shep is a case, God he is so typical male. Arrogant and proud. How can you place a bet, saying you did win somebody’s girlfriend? Surely a lovely way to start a relationship, not. Rich kids that have everything and do not stop until they get what they want, do have problems, though other’s are quick to dismiss them, but it’s how they were brought up and they are also human beings, who need to know that people recognize them for who they are and here is the case with Shepard.

Fair Game was such an interesting read, I hated putting it down to go do something. It always the books I put off reading for months that I find interesting and such wonderful reads. I guess I will eventually get to reading the next books in the Rules series, in the near future. For the mean time Adieu!

5-stars

Five Fair Stars.

2 thoughts on “Fair Game by Monica Murphy

Leave a Reply

