Pucked by Helena Hunting

Pucked (Pucked #1) by Helena Hunting

Published May 3rd 2015

With a famous NHL player for a step-brother, Violet Hall is well acquainted with the playboy reputation many hockey stars come with. She’s smart enough to steer clear of those hot, well-built boys with unparalleled stamina. That is until she meets the legendary team captain—Alex Waters.

Violet isn’t interested in his pretty, beat-up face, or his rock-hard six-pack abs. But when Alex inadvertently obliterates Violet’s previous misapprehension regarding the inferior intellect of hockey players, he becomes more than just a hot body with a face to match.

In what can only be considered a complete lapse in judgment, Violet finds out just how good Alex is with the hockey stick in his pants. But what starts out as a one-night stand, quickly turns into something more. Post-night of orgasmic magic, Alex starts to call, and text, and e-mail and send extravagant—and quirky—gifts, making him difficult to ignore, and even more difficult not to like.

The problem is, the media portrays Alex as a total player, and Violet doesn’t want to be part of the game.


As you can see this book was published last year, I have a lot of books that I should have read last year, still sitting in my library tbr (to be read) pile, that I am slowly making  my way through, I’m trying my hardest not to read new books and pick one at random to read. I finally decided to read Pucked and I’m very disappointed in myself I could have read this delicious book a while ago, I judged it by it’s cover, yes the cover is quite dark for such funny and interesting contents also I mistook the hockey stick in his hand for a weapon of some sorts, I’ve been staying away from the dark books lately lol. Anyways it didn’t click that puck…hockey, I love sport/athlete characters.

I laughed so much while reading this book, when I was done I had one huge smile on my face, not to also say it was the first book I read as soon as my exam started. Yes as soon as my exams started. Alex and Violet are the funniest and most awkward characters I have ever read about and it makes me love them even more. Goodness! there are so many wtf moments and I’m asking myself did I just read that as I’m trying to contain my laughter and not let on to others that I wasn’t actually reading my school notes. Not only are they awkward so are some one the characters in the book, like Violet’s mother for one and Buck.

Alex Waters, is too good, he’s everything. Hot-tempered sexy alpha hockey playing male, who has found the girl of his dreams in Violet, now he has to convince her that he is quite serious about her and wants a steady relationship (shows some seriously light stalker syndromes lol), despite the fact that she is his team-mate younger stepsister. He is so awkward and always feel like he is doing something wrong, which births awkward situations. In total he isn’t the norm amongst the hockey players and he’s story is quite shocking and unexpected, like most stories, some one has to pull a dick move and he wins the spot for it, but I still couldn’t hate him for it and I just wanted Violet to forgive him and let hi off the hook a lot easier than I normally go for when siding with my female protagonists.

Violet is violent and vibrant. She is an embodiment of life, she is so funny and thinks up all this weird stuff and is awkward as hell, which makes her the perfect match for Alex in my opinion. I swear Violet has a bad case of diarrhea of the mouth and lands herself in the mother of awkward situations. She has a thing for Alex’s MC, which she christened it and poor MC has suffered in her hand. I like how vibrant and strong willed Violet is, in general I love awkward people and she wears the crown.

Pucked is worth the read in my opinion, I mean for people who are able to see humor mixed with crudeness and understands awkwardness very well, yeah you must qualify as a weirdo yourself, who doesn’t get prissy and pissed off too easily at clearly intended jokes/puns in the book. Yes I’m slightly ranting, I read a stupid review about the book, where the reviewer even DNF’ed the book, in the near beginning part, because Violet said something about MC being elephant size in nature, which I found very funny and entertaining and extremely awkward. Best book I read in January.

5-stars

Five Pucking Stars.

Leave a Reply

