Hardball by C.D. Reiss

Hardball by C.D. Reiss

Published March 29th 2016

Perfect ass. Perfect arms. Perfect swagger. They call Dash Wallace the Diamond King. He’s the hottest commodity in baseball and in the bedroom. When he runs the bases, every woman’s eyes are glued to his stunning body and a smile that puts the night lights to shame.

I’m no queen. I’m a regular girl with a regular job. I just watch him on TV and from the bleachers, season after season. Girls like me grab a guy like that one in a million times. My number just came up, and he is as spectacular in bed as he is on the field. But there’s not a woman in the world who can distract Dash Wallace from the game. Not for a moment. Not even me. Until the night I do. And everything changes.

Portrait of baseball player with bare chest holding bat in locker room

I love sport/athlete characters. It’s one of my favorite sub-genre? I previously reviewed Pucked and I’m back again with another Hardball, but this time around it’s Softball. Hmm…I should have written a review on Baller by Vi Keeland, it’s one hell of a book and you should definitely read it, if you’re going through an Athlete romance reading phase or in need of a good book, that will leave you feeling all sorts of emotions.

I don’t know where to start with this one, I think this is the first book of Reiss that isn’t really all that complicated and more borderline sweet and gooey. Yeah there are tough times, but they quickly fixed their issues and all in all it wasn’t all that messy, the perfect amount of reality.

Dash is seemingly arrogant, but he’s actually a softie and you can tell from the moment he met Vivian, he had fallen head over heels for her even if he couldn’t tell it yet or was still in denial. He’s very good with Vivian and very intense, I could feel his emotions and everything quite clearly. He struggles and all that, he has a way he’s life has to be and of course Vivian had to throw him off course for him to realize what he was truly missing.

Vivian is a sweetheart, a wonderful and truly beautiful character. She made me laugh a couple of times, because of how awkward texting could get for her and well, if you have to handle elementary school kids and all that, I’m so sure laughing will be inevitable cause little kids and their antics. I love how she wasn’t afraid to speak her mind, own up to what she wanted, her kindness, her willingness to listen and openness to making things work despite everything. I just loved her, such a sweetheart and she is definitely a spirit of love.

Like I said at the beginning Athlete Romance is what’s raining this season for me. Please if you want a light and very romantic read, this is definitely the book for you and I promise you, you’ll be glued to the story until you’re done, Reiss just has a wonderful way with words and all her stories hold me captive.

4-stars

4 Running Stars.

Leave a Reply

