Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs & Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

Title Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Author Ransom Riggs Series Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children

9460487

Published June 7th 2011 by Quirk

I’m sorry to say this, actually I am not. This book doesn’t live up to half of it’s hype. I want to weep, because I really expected so much more from this book, I was waiting for it to become very scary, this wouldn’t even have gotten a fright out of me as a child.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

This part of the blurb is so misleading, I didn’t feel no spine tingling and okay the pictures where wonderfully to look at, but adventures in the shadows, mfft. not even near it.

The story started off good, a very good concept but not well put out, I know it’s for kids but seriously, sigh. I hope the movie is a wonderful thing to watch,  I pray because I am still looking forward to watching it.

3half-stars

36

Book Learning to swear in America Author Katie Kennedy

23018259

Published July 5th 2016 by Bloomsbury

This book was unexpectedly good, in an awkward way. Yuri and Dovie are the oddest pair, yet they are perfect for each other, this tale is bizarre and awesome, because I waited too long to write this review, I can’t say anymore than this.

4-stars

Thanks for reading.

5 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs & Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy

  1. I think I may have enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children a bit more. The addition of the photos was clever and worked for me! But no, definitely not “spine-tingling” haha. I am excited for the movie as well. Although it looks like they are going to deviate a bit with the characters. But don’t you think it has a lot potential as a good fantasy film if done right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the movie if done right will be very good, and we all have different in-takes of books, like my favorite book could be your least interesting. I guess if I read the other books, it may make it look better, so I’m not entirely crossing it off, but it’s ensured that I am never going to listen any over-hyping of books, unless I always intended on reading it! Thanks for commenting

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

