Standalone Sunday: Black Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig

standalone-1

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the wonderful Megan. All we have to do is feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that we loved reading or would recommend others to read!

Join us in participating in this weekly feature by creating your own Standalone Sunday post on Sunday’s (like you didn’t know that), with whichever blogging platform you use. Plus Megan says it’s alright to use the image she created,  just remember to link back to her original post announcing the feature, so she can check out your post.

36

 Blac30236300k Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig

Published October 17th 2016 

Blurb

I’ve loved him as long as I can remember. 

The gangly boy with big brown eyes and unruly hair who grew up into an intoxicating man. He wears scruff like he invented it and ambles with a swagger that makes panties drop.

Killian Shepard. Shep.

We grew up together. We played Ghost in the Graveyard. Had our own rock band. It didn’t matter that he was five years older than me. It didn’t matter that he looked at me as a kid sister even as I grew into woman. It didn’t even matter when he left me behind to go to college and start his adult life.

He’d be back.
He was always meant to be mine.

He came back, all right. But instead of smelling of promises, he stunk of betrayal. And he destroyed me—us—the day he married my sister instead of me.

So I did the only thing a girl like me in my position could do.

I got my revenge.
I married his brother, Kael.
Now we’re one big happy f*cking family.

36

What did I think about this book?

My Review

Started On – 18th Oct. 2016

Finished On – 19th Oct. 2016

I discovered this book on Alecia, The Staircase Reader, blog. You can find a lot of books to check out on there.

This is a very intense book. I was expecting to read superb writing which I did, I was expecting to be more than blown away, but I only get more than I bargained for.

This is a very complicated love story… *very complicated*. The blurb is quite vicious, I just read it, while writing this review. I think it’s a blessing in disguise I didn’t read the blurb, because I’ll surely won’t have read the book yet! Because this story is my worst kind of book trope, a greatly horrible love triangle, one where in the end the main character has to choose only one partner for life and this is one very tough and heart wrenching story.

This is a wonderful book, a story about the hardship of love and overcoming it, it had it’s surprising twist and turns and I love the happily ever after but I hate the reveal at the end of the book, I found the author built-up suspense unnecessarily and couldn’t really play it out well, so threw in a crazy mix to the end to perfectly tie up the story, i mean it does work, but I was disappointed.

I also found it annoying how much moping around Maverick and Kael did about the amount of love they were feeling. I feel like we were always reminded, like we know already.

p.s. I read this book after I finished another complicated love story Neighbors by Stylo Fantôme, as my mind was smarting because I was over-torturing it. I mean I can read tragic love-triangles but only when it’s a background theme, those are extremely bearable, don’t you agree?

4-stars

36

Have you read this book? What are standalones you’ve enjoyed reading? Make your own post! Have a lovely week ahead and a chilled Halloween tomorrow!IMG_2899.png

12 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: Black Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig

  1. Awesome Standalone post! I think I’ll link your post to my Standalone post, as well as the one I do on Sunday, just to be safe 😊 This book sounds interesting and you make a great case for it!! I’ll definitely be adding this to my TBR, as I’ve never heard of it until now. Thanks so much, Lara!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reminds me of one awkward moment when I was little and my mum sat beside me and started reading one of the books I was reading with my laptop, thankful there was no kissing or anything and she left. I’m a big girl now, they can’t judge me 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OMG why would you do that 😂😂😂😂😂 I watched it the day it came out, on V-Day, I watched it with strangers and a guy was seating beside me, so freaking awkward. Then I heard rumours that a lot of people were being frisky in the cinema halls cause of how hot the scenes were so like a week later it got banned from the cinema 😂🌚 I knew it would happen that’s why I watched it the day it came out. But Internet cafe, you got balls Jay.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

