The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Book The Star-Touched Queen Author  Roshani Chokshi Series The Star-Touched Queen

25203675

Published April 26th 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Blurb

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

My Review

Started On – 15 Oct. 2016

Finished On – 7th Nov. 2016

p.s. you should know blurbs are very misleading. Don’t put your trust in them.

I looked down at the reviews for this book, as I was about to start my own review and I am appalled, so much negativity. It’s astonishing to me, because I really enjoyed the book, even if it took me long to finish it. But I got into like 100 + pages of 800 +, before I took a break (other books distracted me) and today, I finished everything, I couldn’t stop, needed to know more (even during class).

So what did I just read, beautiful prose of course, but if I am being 100% honest. I’m sure I didn’t understand or get the meaning of more than half of what I read, I was only able to grasp and understand the story. The world Roshani has created is, very confusing, so many things are going on at once, yet clear at the same time.

I’m going to argue about a review I saw, where some review commented that Roshani got the Hindu myth wrong. Author’s have poetic or creative license, they have the right to mix up and bend the world they create to their will… you’re reading fiction, it’s not reality. So if she wants to change a myth, she can do as she damn well pleases ugh.

Yes there is an awful case of insta-love, but it’s not quite that awful or instant. Yes Maya our beloved Rani, may have done some questionable things, but I can see why she made such decisions, and why she acted the way she did. Because she needed to discover herself and believe that she could do so. Look at how she was raised, you nasty reviews should cut Maya a break.

I’m not a huge fantasy reader and I am slowly working my way into liking this genre, so I can’t compare it to the other stories it has been compared to. I for one could not even read A Court of Thorns and Roses, I’ll try again in future maybe. But I was intrigued and captured by this story, yes it had it’s major flaw of very beautiful prose, that made no sense, but it doesn’t matter, because the message was passed across, it was a successful two way communication between I, the reader and the author.

4-stars

4 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Leave a Reply

