Book Review: Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

33585392Book: Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

Author: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Publication: March 7th, 2017.

Publisher: Knopf Publishing Group

Blurb: A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a dear friend from childhood, asking her how to raise her baby girl as a feminist. Dear Ijeawele is Adichie’s letter of response.

Here are fifteen invaluable suggestions–compelling, direct, wryly funny, and perceptive–for how to empower a daughter to become a strong, independent woman. From encouraging her to choose a helicopter, and not only a doll, as a toy if she so desires; having open conversations with her about clothes, makeup, and sexuality; debunking the myth that women are somehow biologically arranged to be in the kitchen making dinner, and that men can “allow” women to have full careers, Dear Ijeawele goes right to the heart of sexual politics in the twenty-first century. It will start a new and urgently needed conversation about what it really means to be a woman today.

My Review

Started On – March 18th, 2017.

Finished On – March 18th, 2017.

One of my role models, one of my nation’s greatest fruit. I love when she speaks about feminism because with her I can purely relate because she’s will make it clear to her brethren, what feminism is all about with African examples.

As I went through this book, I just felt touched with the wonder of Chimamanda, everything in this book, explains clearly how I feel and I have had two lengthy arguments with people in the space of reading this book, which isn’t even up to twenty-four hours yet (this post is scheduled) There are so many words, that are enlightening and I can only suggest you get yourself a copy and gift it to people also, share the wise words to mothers and fathers, mothers and fathers to be—just everyone.

If I start talking about this book I’m going to get all preachy about the contents, because they are words I’ve taken to heart, but I tweeted some of my best paragraphs in the books, twelve paragraphs, split into three tweets, they are pictures, so I’m just going to include the thread I made especially for this book.

If you want to understand more on what feminism is all about, don’t hesitate, this book is very clear, funny and easy to understand, with easy analogies that most people can relate to.

5-stars

kobo-logo

amazon

get_it_on_ibooks_badge_us_1114

bn

goodreads-badge

signature

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Leave a Reply

